Income tax

188 lawmakers did not pay income tax for fiscal year 2019: FBR


The Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) released a list of 188 lawmakers who failed to file their tax returns in the 2019 tax year, while 35 parliamentarians, including former Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani , declared their taxable income to be zero.

According to documents available from The Express Tribune, Najeeb Haroon tops the list paying Rs 14,749,768 while 20 parliamentarians paid less than Rs 1,000 while 76 parliamentarians including Punjab Chief Minister Usman Buzdar have paid income taxes ranging from Rs 1,000 to Rs 2,000, and 44 parliamentarians paid up to Rs 10,000.

During the 2019 tax year, 1,003 parliamentarians filed their income tax returns. 80 of them were senators, 312 deputies, 327 from the Punjab assembly, 149 from the Sindh assembly, 91 from the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) assembly and 44 from the Balochistan assembly.

Of those who paid no tax, 11 were from the Punjab Assembly, 10 from NA, eight from the Senate, four from the KP Assembly, and one each from the Sindh Assembly and the KP Assembly. Balochistan.

Read also : FBR exceeds first half tax collection target

These include MPs Abdul Shakoor, Kamaluddin, Mansoor Hayat, Niaz Ahmed Jakhar, Saif-ur-Rehman, Saleem Rehman, Miss Farrukh Khan, Shakila Khalid Chaudhry, Pir Amir Ali Shah Jilani and Sardar. Mohammad Khan Leghari.

Among the senators who have not paid taxes are Ahmadzai, Rana Maqbool Ahmad, Qaratul Ain Marri and Faisal Rehman.

Members of the Punjab Assembly who have paid no income tax are Mian Amaldar Abbas Qureshi, Khalid Mehmood Dogar, Mehmood Liaqat, Mohammad Muawiyah, Mohammad Saleem Akhtar, Samiullah Chaudhry, Azmi Zahid Bukhari, Rukhsana Kausar, Raja Saghir and Talmo Mehran.

Ayesha Bano, Ikhtiar Wali, Madiha Nisar and Shah Dad Khan of the KP Assembly paid no taxes, while Khalil George and Jam Shabbir Ali Khan of the Balochistan Assembly and the Sindh Assembly, respectively, did not pay tax either.

Prime Minister Imran Khan paid Rs 8,954,959 in taxes in fiscal year 2019, while Senate Speaker Sadiq Sanjrani paid Rs 1,399,000 the leader of the opposition in the National Assembly (NA ) Shehbaz Sharif paid Rs 8,240,000 and the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) Co-president and former president Asif Ali Zardari paid Rs 2,218,229 in taxes.

Read also : People pressed for inflation suffer more from tax hikes

NA President Asad Qaiser paid Rs 555,794, Punjab Assembly Speaker Pervaiz Elahi Rs 932,835, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari Rs 535,000, Finance Minister Shaukat Tareen Rs 266,000,000, Chief Minister of Punjab Usman Buzdar 2,000 Rs, Chief Minister of KP Mehmood Khan Rs 66,258, Chief Minister of Sindh Murad Ali Shah Rs 1,099,758, Chief Minister of Balochistan Abdul Qudus Bizenjo Rs 1,061,777 in the 2019 tax year.

Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) top leader and former Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi paid Rs 4,871,277, Senate Deputy Speaker Mirza Muhammad Afridi Rs 40,913, Law Minister Farogh 4 285,201 Rs. Senior PPP leader and former Prime Minister Yusuf Raza Gillani paid no taxes during this period.

Senator Mushahid Hussain Syed paid Rs 75,000, Senator Farooq H Naek Rs 4,900,000, Senator Faisal Javed Rs 66,000, Federal Minister of Railways Azam Khan Swati Rs 784,000, Senator Faisal Vawda 1,162,000 Rs, Senator Talha Mahmood Rs 322,000,000, Senator Raza Rabbani Rs 1,556,000, Federal Minister Moonis Elahi Rs 6,534,000, Defense Minister Pervez Khattak Rs 1,257,000, Federal Minister Noorul Haq Qadri Rs 62,250, Sheharyar Afridi 53,876 Rs, Minister of State Farrukh Habib 4,05,477 Rs, Federal Minister of Science and Technology Shibli Faraz 885,000 Rs, Senator Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri 89,479 Rs, Senator Zeeshan 1,000 Rs, Federal Minister Dr Shireen Mazari 871,033 Rs Minister of Foreign Affairs Shah Mahmood Qureshi 851,955 Rs, Federal Minister Khusro Bakhtiar 158,100 Rs, PML- N leader Ahsan Iqbal Rs 55,656, Azam Nazir Tarar Rs 2,540,126, Senator Ahmad Khan Rs 2,388 362, Ali Bukhari Rs 38,000 while the porte-paro the PML-N Marriyum Aurangzeb paid Rs 39,761 in taxes.

Federal Communications Minister Murad Saeed paid Rs 86,606, Federal Minister Hamad Azhar paid Rs 29,025, Noor Alam Khan of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf paid Rs 82,311, Khawaja Saad Rafique of PML-N Rs 269,414 , Federal Minister Sheikh Rasheed 557 Rs, 450 and Federal Minister Ghulam Sarwar Khan paid 1,211,661 in taxes.

Source link